Welcome to the Lunatic Fringe

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Want to help support PFN?

In lieu of ads you can help me to offset PFN operating costs by making any of your Amazon.com purchases through this link at no additional cost to you.

Team of Destiny; Book Report by Adventuroo

Well, my DW never found time to read the book that I gave her last Christmas. Sat down about a week ago and finished today. Would give it a A+ or a 100, but Thurl (who wrote and actually published it - Big T Productions) had a few Typo’s…and usually I’m not a proofer…. So, it gets an A almost PLUS.

Actually, from a content perspective, it is perfect. A bit different as he published it as a motivational work as well. White Fang, because I seem to know more about him from reading between the lines, as well as many others should find it enjoyable…. Especially on some flights.

Readabiiity or perhaps the level needed for comprehensive understanding is excellent. Easy to read…easy to grasp….no need to look up words put into the text to show off some high faluting vocabulary. I would read for at least 2 hours and never get tired or bored.

Filled with trivia and well researched….save Bucknell is in LEWISBURG, not Louisville, PA. A few transposed dates…like 1891 instead of 1981. A few others since two surnames were the same, but spelled differently.

The real crux of the book is the interviews with so many of the folks associated with the team. Every coach, player and even Beverly Sparks. Who dat? The white haired lady that I have watched since 2006 sit behind the WP Bench and see all the ex-players come up and hug her. My seats are on the sideline and I often wondered about her. She talks about working for Sloan, Valvano, Robinson and Herbie…she was the secretary to all of them…and loved Lowe…